What’s offensive is offensive

The nos and buts and if should not be normalised with the wrong

As a woman, I have grown up facing quite a remarkable amount of discrimination and slapped by some absolutely ridiculous stereotypes. There are a lot of things that are so normalised in our society, that we don’t see anything wrong in them. As I learn who a respectful person really is, I struggle defending myself. Men just don’t get it. Because of the ways our thought processes are wired now, we don’t see anything wrong when anyone makes generalised statements about women to ridicule them, because they are just “opinions.” When in fact, it is never just an opinion. An opinion doesn’t take long to form into an idea that spreads and creates stereotypes. If a man with a mother and a sister and a wife entertains himself by making “jokes” that degrade women like “only girls are that sensitive to be a boomer and not chill,” “a girl will never understand real pain men go through on the daily,” then he is misogynistic. End of discussion. A person is making statements about a whole group of people to just have a laugh. If this is humor then that person needs to reflect on their thinking patterns. The statement, “It’s just a joke” does not make it a joke, it makes you a douchebag. Period. I still feel terrified when pointing out to men who make me uncomfortable. I get scared when telling misogynistic men off. There are many who pass even more comments, saying the world will call you misogynistic for simply expressing an opinion. It’s scary at times. I wonder if I was in the wrong and maybe said too much. Then I remember that what is wrong is wrong. That person shouldn’t have passed offending statements in the first place if they were worried that I, as a woman might be offended.


Song of the day!!

Do It Again by Benee & Mallrat. This is such an energising track to remind yourself that you gotta do what you gotta do to reach somewhere and that you really can do it.

© Copyright to @mysticalsoul5 (mysticalsoulblogs). All rights reserved.

Author: mysticalsoul

Music, memes & good stories-my lifelines

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started