Tears of Joy

I wrote a short story….

There was a writing contest in June in which we could write anything (poem, story, essay) on the given topic. I wrote a story of around 2500 words in 1 day. This is the shortest time I have taken in writing a story this long. I took inspiration from myself and pride month. I was writing another one at first but I thought since it’s the pride month why not give recognition to the community as well? I didn’t win the competition, but I wanna share my piece with all. It’s called TEARS OF JOY. Hope you enjoy.


In this world, everyone gets to have a lover. Love is normal. It is universal, it has no rules and it isn’t limited. It’s described as the greatest blessing that brings immense joy. Yet for me, it is anything but happiness. You see, I am different. My kind of love isn’t normal. It isn’t acceptable, nor is it legal.

But my sexuality is just a part of me, let me introduce myself as a whole to you. I am Chehak.

Since we are talking about secrets, let me share one with you. I can’t feel. No, I don’t have some biological condition, I have become like that. Confused? Hang with me, I’m sure I’ll give you something out of this story.

Not having to deal with emotions is one of the best qualities I have. I work with my brain. Feelings and love are stupid. Love makes you weak. It gives you expectations. It breaks hearts and brings pain. I may even call myself the biggest anti-romantic. But the way I think doesn’t determine the way my heart feels, at least in this matter. I am bisexual. I have double the choices to date even though I have no interest in any of them. Ironically funny, isn’t it?

Read more… (the site takes a few seconds longer to load so please be patient)

EDIT ON 20/06/23
I have edited this story heavily and have published it on Wattpad. The story is still available on the contest link, but I wish to reach a wider audience so today I have finally posted it!! Click here to check it out! I have decided to post in chapters with independent insights, that will build up to an overall meaningful experience.


Song of the day!!

Willow Tree by Rival, Rosendale & Cadmium. Broken relations, grief and acceptance- this sorrowful melody covers it all beautifully.

© Copyrighted to @mysticalsoul5 (mysticalsoulblogs). All rights reserved.

Author: mysticalsoul

Music, memes & good stories-my lifelines

3 thoughts on “Tears of Joy”

  1. Yours is a very moving story, one in which I’m sure many others your age are experiencing. Im glad you are writing and sharing. Have you tried to find a support group? I think it would be good to have people going through similar issues. You might like a book I’m currently reading “Girl, Woman, Other” by Bernardine Evaristo. Toxic relationships come in all forms so you might find something relatable in it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started