Hush little baby don’t you cry

The world’s gonna end up turning your tears dry.
TW: harassment

Going to jump straight to the point today, I am unable to find any creative openings. I got harassed on my way back from the market today. Just an hour ago. In the middle of a busy chaotic street,
while I was buying vegetables,
by an old man probably in his 50s.

Let that sink in.

I was getting my stuff from the vendor when I had to move my scooty’s handle slightly to make way for others walking by. An old man speaks from behind that I hit him and I should be careful. How’d I hit him when I never had the space to move because there is a car lined up behind me? I don’t know. I still apologised to let it go. He came up front from the rear and started spewing nonsense on how sorry doesn’t excuse a murder. I had my hand on my keys now, ready to rev up the engine and leave instantly. This man then looks me dead in the eyes, tries placing his hand on top of my scooty and creepily asks, “where do you live?” I whirred my engine and took off while calling him a creep.

And hold on, this isn’t the worst part.

Quite shaken, I reached home and told mum about it. She comforted me as I started bawling, scared by all the flashbacks of that guy and his creepy stare. And then she spoke a harsh truth every girl has to live by in this world. “You can’t be scared like this, things like this will always happen to us women.” This wasn’t my first time being harassed, nor would it be my last, I know. And this fact that every girl and every woman has to live in such an unsafe world where we have to stand tall digesting the fact that “these things will always happen” shows the kind of world we live in. And that’s the worst part about it. We can’t let this get to us because we will face much worse. That’s how it is.


Song of the day!!

Let Go by Kayla Williams. This one gives the strong female who can annihilate anyone in her way aura.

© Copyright to @mysticalsoul5 (mysticalsoulblogs). All rights reserved.

Author: mysticalsoul

Music, memes & good stories-my lifelines

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started